Skip to content

Banquet Awards

2020 Business Award Winners

In previous years, the Roane Chamber has held an annual Awards Banquet in the spring to honor outstanding Chamber members by presenting them with awards that were voted on by Chamber board members and ambassadors. In 2019, the Roane Chamber and Roane Alliance decided to merge their biggest events (Chamber’s Awards Banquet and Alliance’s Roane Gala) into one even bigger and better event. We set the date for March of 2020 and started planning.
Due to the pandemic, we rescheduled the long-awaited Roane Gala – A Night in Roane numerous times and eventually had to cancel the event for 2020 and set a new date in 2021. But the votes had already been cast and our winners had already been selected so we wanted to find a way to still recognize our 2020 winners without taking away from our upcoming 2021 winners.
So, in the age of all things virtual, we decided to create a special video to recognize each of our winners individually for their contributions, dedication, and overall support of Roane County! After all, it's been a difficult year and we could all use a little (virtual) celebration don't you think?
We ask that you take a moment each day over the next week to join us in celebration as we announce the wonderful individuals and businesses that have not only embraced their awarded honors but continue to live up to it each and every day.


Paul Cowell Distinguished Service Award – Marilyn Calfee

Business of the Year - Oak Ridge Utility District

Industry of the Year - Volkswagen Group of America

Woman of the Year - Toni Haba

Paul E. Goldberg Young Professional of the Year – Ben Briley

Ambassador of the Year - Nikki Adkisson


2020 Marilyn Calfee
2019 Rick Cox
2018 Kathy Parks
2017 Barry Stephenson
2016 Russell Johnson
2015 Dr. Chris Whaley
2014 Sharon Templeton
2013 Paul Cowell
2012 Johnny Griffin
2011 Dr. Gary Goff
2010 Buddy Bowers
2009 Dana Peterka
2008 Gary Baker
2007 Jim Gann
2006 Jerry Duncan
2005 Tony Mason
2004 Dr. Jack Warner
2003 Dr. Julian Ahler
2002 Ken Yager
2001 H.G. "Sonny" Hunter, Jr.
2000 Tony Brown
1999 Jerry Stephens
1998 Steve Kirkham
1997 Larry Byrkit
1996 David Webb
1995 Hershel Freels
1994 William "Bill" Manly
1993 Sonny Harvey
1992 Dr. Paul Goldberg
1991 Russell Simmons
1990 Ken Gilliam
1989 Walter Burlington
1988 Frank Knies
1987 Citizens of Roane County
1986 James M. Henry
1985 Henry "Hank" Cooper
1984 Louise M. Greene
1983 Cuyler A. Dunbar
1982 Sam Browder
1981 Nick Drewry
1980 Gerald Hensley
1979 George Ed Wilson, Jr.
1978 Wilbert Rowe
1977 Maurice K. Williams
1976 O. W. McMinn, Harriman
Don Patterson, Kingston
Albert Baisley, Rockwood
1975 Ed Browder, Harriman
Paul Page, Kingston
Ralph Jean, Rockwood
1974 Dr. L. A. Killefer, Harriman
Sam O'Briant, Kingston
Russell Simmons, Sr., Rockwood
1973 Walter Pulliam, Harriman
C. E. Scott, Kingston
LeRoy Stansell, Rockwood
1972 Beulah Burns, Harriman
Earl Robinson, Kingston
Ferrel O'Quinn, Rockwood
1971 Walter Stone, Harriman
Bethel Poston, Kingston
Maurice Grief, Rockwood
1970 G. E. Edwards, Harriman
Ron Burney, Kingston
Don Edwards, Rockwood


2020 Ben Briley
2019 Mark Patterson
2018 Rebecca Schwepfinger
2017 Eric Barger
2016 Honorable Terry Stevens
2015 Kim Nelson
2014 Jude Miller
2013 Brantley Rivers
2012 Wade Creswell
2011 Chris Ahler
2010 Chris Mason


2020 ORUD
2019 Earl Duff Subaru
2018 Humble Bee Flowers & Gifts
2017 Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.
2016 Toho America, Inc.
2015 Browder's Ace Hardware
2014 The Bridge at Rockwood
2013 Foust Family Fitness
2012 Coldwell Banker/Jim Henry
& Associates
2011 AGA Insurance Company
2010 Oak Ridge National Lab
2009 Patterson's Home Appliances
2008 Rocky Top General Store
2007 Roane State Community
2006 Roane Medical Center
2005 Whitestone Country Inn
2004 Griffin Insurance Agency
2003 Daniels, Uselton, & Clay
2002 Jerry Duncan Ford
2001 Rocky Top Markets
2000 Rosedale Florist
1999 Junior's Restaurant
1998 Austin's IGA Foodliner
1997 Kingston Chiropractic Center
1996 Gary Baker Electrical, Inc.
1995 Jon Loden's Auto Body
1994 Harriman Cablevision
1993 Dagger Canoe Company


2020 Toni Haba
2019 Jill McMaster
2018 Becky Ruppe
2017 Glenda Johnson
2016 Marilyn Calfee
2015 Teresa Duncan
2014 Danice Turpin
2013 Gail Lyke


2012 Toni McGriff
2011 Lynne Spires
2010 Kathy Parks
2009 Penelope Uselton
2008 Joy Goldberg
2007 Judith Tyl
2006 Karin Cisson
2005 Una Coffman
2004 Diana Knobloch
2003 Teresa Kirkham
2002 Laura Overstreet
2001 Fran Puckett
2000 Kim Harris
1999 Regina Webster
1998 Beth Sublett
1997 Dr. Linda Hunter
1996 Dr. Sherry Hill
1995 Ann Cook
1994 Dr. Sherry Hoppe
1993 Sharon McKee
1992 Barbara Margiotta
1991 Eilene Harris
1990 Pat Hope
1989 Barbara Dietz


2020 Nikki Adkisson
2019 Henry Redmond
2018 Tori May
2017 Matt Libby
2016 Christy McCormick
2015 Stephanie DeChaine

Scroll To Top